Supernova

I am alone by the shore
Listening to the soft echoes
Floating upon the sea of memories
What was lost, I ponder, where does time go?

Words became earthbound, joy became tragedy
Eternity faded into ephemere
Rose petals became blood stains
My world fell in ruins, can you not see?

A beauteous field burnt to ashes
Majestic Simorgh fallen on its neck, bleeding from the thorns
Lines on my hand turn to the sky
Where are You, O Healer?

Phantoms from the past reflect in my eyes
Is this what you call ‘True Love’?
Where Faith and Love cannot even save you?
Do you remember nothing from our flight?

Bulleh Shah says I cannot live and I cannot die
Shabistari says I am living an illusion
Rumi says I must bear the pain
Muhammad says I must die before I die

Beshno az ney – listen to the reed pipe – the mystics say
But the reed player’s robes are drenched in blood
Bring me an orchestra instead
Say not that I am lost or gone astray

Say not that I have fallen from the highest mountain
Say not that I have crashed into a valley of thorns
Say not that I have broken into a thousand pieces
Say not that my heart is torn

No, I have exploded into infinity
Infinite rhymes, sonnets, verses, and poems
Infinite feelings, joys, and sorrows
Infinite rays of light shooting into every direction

I am Supernova
And you are Stargazer
Watch the multi-colored flame
Of my being shine again

And as a being with no flag, no label, no emblem
I will emerge from nothing
Riding on the winged-horse of Jerusalem
Sailing with that one Breath that created this Universe

~ BM ~

6 Comments

  1. Aafke said,

    March 7, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Beautiful poem, beatiful painting.
    I am glad the poem ends on a hopeful note, may you emerge into happines soon.

  2. Michele said,

    March 7, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    you have such a way with words and expressing yourself.
    hope you are doing ok – haven’t heard from you. did you
    like the Rooz album I sent from itunes? I hope it brought you
    comfort. you are in my prayers…peace to you brotherjaan

  3. darvish said,

    March 10, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Alhamdulillah! What a beautiful painting and sublime poem :) I am moved to tears, and for that I have eternally grateful! May Allah comfort your heart and guide your pen and brush. Ameen.

    Ya Haqq!

  4. haamidah said,

    March 11, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Allahu Akbar!

    I love every verse of this poem. The outpourings of your broken heart are moving to other hearts.
    May Allah restore you to Himself.

    I will be linking to this post.

  5. March 12, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Thank you everyone for your kind words and comments. Your support really means a lot.

    Haamidah – that is very thoughtful of you, thanks so much :)

  6. Krishna.n.c said,

    March 13, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Dear B.M,
    My humble salaam to you : ) I got your link through my Beloved Brother Irving (Darvish) and i went through your blog, its so beautiful :)This poem and the painting describe your anguish so purely.i have been so touched….
    i read about you. I so very well understand your pain and sorrow .Life isnt fair at times but all i can say that He and His love is eternally there for you. I offer you my deepest prayer for your wellbeing and i so dearly wish that may your broken heart be mended with His blessings and grace..And yes dear you are not alone…i am there for you, with you in all your moments of pain and joy..
    I am sending you lots and lots of Love and goodwishes and a big bear hug with a promise that He sure will make all your dreams come true…Your prayers will be answered, maybe not in a way that you want but in a way that He Wills : which will transform your life and lay your path with red roses :) )
    May Allah bless you with Immense Peace of mind.

    P.S ( You can mail me or write to me too, pls dont hesitate)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

