Abstraction

Outside, there is the sun
Green leaves grow, flowers bloom
Warm air, pleasant breeze
Yet for me, I am in the shade of gloom

A broken vow
And the clouds are weeping
I am their rainfall
Infertile soil, no garden to spring

What key is there to find
When they have all sunk in the ocean
And swallowed by the abyss of non-existence
Oh, how I have dreamt this sea to be one of passion

Those Love songs I penned with my heart
Floating in a realm of the past
Imprisoned in the sphere of memories
Forgotten tales of how we would never be apart

Another broken heart story
And the mirrors are shattering
I am the pieces, the cracks, the distortions
Nothing to reflect but the mask of tragedy

Reason and Revelation
Where I have gone wrong in these schools of thought
Who will resurrect Baghdad’s House of Wisdom
Who will provide the answers?

Talk of flying, romantic gardens
Mythical creatures, mystic paintings
My fingers dancing across piano keys
Was I just a mere abstraction?

A murdered dream
And the fairy tale is fading
I am chasing its happy endings, its light of hope
Running from the storm of this nightmare

I drive alone on this empty and silent road, friend
No light for days, no life for a thousand miles
Sooner or later, I think
The nightmare will end

Blow a kiss to the moon
Compose a verse, listen to the heart
Sooner or later, I hope
I will be home soon

Show me the Path, my King

~ BM ~

8 Comments

  1. Krishna.n.c said,

    March 15, 2008 at 9:57 am

    My Dear B.M,
    Alhamdullilah! What soul stirring words…I have felt every little heartbeat of yours yearning for the Love and Bliss you so intensely seek…Inshallah, your beautiful heart ripping unanwered will soon find Solace…His delays are not His denials my dear..and you have caught the Hand which never fails..The King will soon show you His etched Path for you…Your homecoming will be a very blissful one :)
    I bless you with all the happiness and love that you so richly deserve..
    My humble salaam to your Love :)

  2. swadhinbd said,

    March 15, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Great work. thanks

  3. swadhinbd said,

    March 15, 2008 at 11:57 am

    You may visit my site at http://bd71.blogspot.com. You will learn what islam done in our country. Don’t blame man. Because in islam- nothing is personal. All things are done by allah, not by human. a pure muslim always drive by allah.

  4. haamidah said,

    March 15, 2008 at 11:58 am

    May Allah grant you happiness at the end of this sad tale. It takes time so pour out your grief.

  5. akash said,

    March 15, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I have discovered a very precious site through sister krishna’s blog .
    Very beautiful expression of feelings . Soothing words . Sorrow seems to melt and flow with the words and pictures .
    Like the candle that burns itself to illuminate it’s surroundings ………..
    That is how these words seem to be !

    I wish to express my gratitude to the source of these words.

    Akash

  6. brokenmystic said,

    March 16, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Thank you everyone for your supportive comments. Krishna, I wrote a response on your blog : )

    Swadhinbd – thanks for visiting and I will check your website out soon. I have to disagree with you about blame though. We should not blame Allah for anything. Any misery that occurs to us is either our own doing, or Allah is doing it because He promises something better (this is written in the Qur’an).

    Haamidah – May Alah bless you for your dua’s, thank you. I don’t mean to fill my blog up with negativity. Some days I have to express myself like this.

    Akash – And I found your words to be soothing too. If there is a candle still lit inside of me, I am glad that at least someone sees it :)

  7. Aafke said,

    March 18, 2008 at 10:56 am

    It is so sad, but also very beautiful.

    Very interesting painting too.

  8. Atabek said,

    March 24, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Salaam Broken Mystic:

    You are a good poet. I really like the part:

    “A murdered dream
    And the fairy tale is fading
    I am chasing its happy endings, its light of hope
    Running from the storm of this nightmare”

    Really interesting. The thought of a murdered dream is… interesting. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

