I Weep With the Clouds

My review for the latest “Niyaz” album has been long overdue, but I promise I will write it very soon. From the album, I discovered an amazing poet who lived in the Indian Subcontinent during the 13th century: Amir Khusrau. He wrote primarily in Persian (Farsi), but also in Urdu. Azam Ali sings two of his Persian poems on the latest “Niyaz” album, “Nine Heavens.” Although this is not one of them, I had to share it because as soon as I read it, I reflected on my own separation from a dear friend of mine. Yesterday, I broke into tears because I played an old song that was special to both of us. Sometimes I’m still shocked that we’re separated. After the shock, I get the memories, and after the memories, I feel sad and miserable. I just wonder if things will ever be as beautiful as it was before. I suppose the answer is in having a positive and open heart, and to have faith in the True Friend — The One who will never turn away from us. I know deep down I have faith things will get better, Insha’Allah.

Abr mi barad-o man shovm-e az yar-e-judaa
Choon kunam dil becheneen roz zedildar judaa
Abr baraan wa man-o yar satadah ba-widaa’
Man judaa girya kunaan, abr judaa, yaar judaa…

(Farsi)

The cloud weeps, and I become separated from my friend
How can I separate my heart from my heart’s friend on such a day
The cloud weeping — and I and the friend standing, bidding farewell
I weeping separately, the clouds separately, the friend separately…

~ Amir Khusrau, 13th Century Indian Sufi

5 Comments

  1. Shawna said,

    July 6, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    that’s very beautiful

  2. Chickadee said,

    July 6, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I’m liking this album even better than the last.

  3. Farheen said,

    July 6, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    It is beautiful. When someone we love is no longer in our lives it is a shock to think about it sometimes. Whether the loss be through moving, physical separation, or death. However, we have to remember that God does have a plan for us and all things happen for a reason. All separations and meetings happen for a reason. People come into and go out of our lives for a reason. And Insha’Allah, one day, those reasons will become apparent to us.

  4. brokenmystic said,

    July 6, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks for the comment everyone :)

    Farheen, I believe every word that you said. I know Allah has a plan for us all, and it’s difficult to see sometimes, but we just need to keep doing the best we can and over time, the answers will reveal themselves to us. Thanks for sharing!

  5. JD said,

    February 4, 2010 at 3:49 am

    That is so beautiful… but made me sad too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

