Eid Al-Adha (The Festival of Sacrifice)

2505771391_4771684249

When the curtain of mystery
Is drawn asunder
Unforeseen beauty emerges
From the throes of complexity

The light of realization
Shines upon thee
The test becomes a journey
Toward inward illumination

Remember how Abraham roamed the night
Distraught by a haunting revelation
Turning his palms to the sky
Praying for the life of his first son

Shaytaan stood by the road
Only to inflict fear and lead astray
Venture through darkness, O’ Abraham
The Hand of Creation will guide you to Heaven’s abode

Remember Me, says the Merciful One
Anyone who denounces Shaytaan
And believes in Me has grasped the strongest bond
One that never breaks [Qur’an, 2:256]

Abraham replied : You are my Lord, my Creator
Only You can release me from such agony
Flame of my Soul, Source of my Being
You demolish and You restore

My Friend, my Beloved, my Constant
When I was frightened, You rescued me
When I was alone, You embraced me
When I was happy, You cherished me

You make me dance, You make me cry
You make me smile, You make me tremble
You make me discover, You make me question
You make me live, You make me die

And so loyal Abraham entered the cypress gardens
Fearless Ismail lay his head beneath his father’s blade
Abraham readied his knife: For You, my Spiritual King
But an Angel of Light intervened and ended the burden

No harm was done to his beloved son
And thus, the message of Faith was revealed
Out of mystery came enlightenment
A lesson to be learned and remembered

Lovers, Believers, Submitters
Whatever names you call them
They, like Abraham, surrender to the call of Love
That is their Faith, their bond with the Eternal Protector

The bond that never breaks

~Broken Mystic~

4 Comments

  1. Irving said,

    December 8, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Alhamdulillah! A really beautiful and powerful poetic voice with a lesson for us this Eid. Thank you so much :)

    Eid Mubarak to you and your family :)

    Ya Haqq!

  2. majnun said,

    December 9, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Mashallah thats beautiful

  3. December 13, 2008 at 11:27 am

    do visit my blog on quran, islam, tafsir, muslim life, ijtihad

    http://munir123.wordpress.com

    please pass around – thank you

  4. surjit said,

    December 13, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    You have a wonderful blog.My best wishes.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

